Clergy & Staff

THE REV. ABIGAIL W. MOON

Interim Rector

abi.moon@saint-john.org

850-222-2636 ext 13

Learn More

The Rev. Abigail W. Moon goes by Mother Abi or Abi. She enjoys welcoming people right where they are on their spiritual journey and walking with them as they seek a spiritual home. Having moved around all of her life, she loves to help people find the loving embrace of God right where they are. Abi loves to bring people around the table for a great meal and conversation and has a passion for helping you seek God in all that you do. At St. John's, she guides and advises the children's, outreach, worship and pastoral care ministries.

She is an avid baker and loves to run, even in the Florida humidity! Abi is married to Rob and they have a fluffy dog named Max.

Abi's Blog

THE REV. WILLIAM B. TREXLER, DMIN

Priest Associate

wbtrexler@gmail.com

850-222-2636

Learn More

The Rev. William B. Trexler, DMin, grew up in Asheville, NC, and graduated from Duke University in 1966 and Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary in 1970. Ordained in 1970, he served parishes in South Carolina, Virginia, and Florida. In 1995, Bill was elected bishop of the Florida-Bahamas Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

Fr. Bill and his spouse Karla recently moved to Tallahassee from Mt. Pleasant to be near their second son Ben, his spouse Alicia, and their children William and Emily. Bill and Karla are currently renovating their home in Ox Bottom. Fr. Bill’s hobbies include landscaping, architecture, and classical music.

THE REV. DEACON JOSEPH H. BAKKER

Deacon

joe.bakker@saint-john.org

850-591-9879

Learn More

The Rev. Joseph H. Bakker, our Deacon, is known as Joe or Deacon Joe. He is involved in prison ministry and pastoral care. Joe feels that his prison visits and his interactions with the sick, the poor and the needy are significant contributors to his spiritual growth. He especially loves the mentoring opportunities provided during prison visits. Joe was born in Guyana and has lived in Tallahassee for the past 37 years.

Joe and his wife Cheryl have two children, Jovita and Geoffrey, and a granddaughter, Micah Anne. Joe loves to play tennis (even though he claims he has no talent) and ping pong.


Staff

Nancy Barfield

Finance Assistant
nancy@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 28

Alvin Bennett

Sexton

Betsy Calhoun

Director of Music
betsy@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 20

Caroline Devitt

Interim Director of Youth Ministries
carolined@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 15

Claire Dodd

Rector’s Asst./Membership Director
claire@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 22

Fran Doxsee

Culinary Director 
frandoxsee@gmail.com
850-222-2636 ext 19

Deborah Dugger

Administrative Assistant
deborah@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 10

Lindsay Hardy

Parish Administrator
lindsay@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 14

Kate Kile

Director of Finance & Stewardship
kate@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 17

Israel Leonard

Sexton

Vivian Leonard

 Cafe Assistant

Elizabeth LaJeunesse

Organist and Liturgy Assistant
elizabeth@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 12

Mike Norris

Music Assistant
norris.mr@gmail.com

Mandy Schnittker

Director of Communications
mandy@saint-john.org
850-445-9515

David Wheeler

Sexton