Clergy & Staff

THE REV. LONNIE LACY

Rector

lonnie.lacy@saint-john.org

850-222-2636 ext 13

Learn More

The Rev. Thomas Alonzo “Lonnie” Lacy II, our rector, goes by Fr. Lonnie. He recently accepted our call to serve as the twenty-eighth rector of St. John’s Episcopal Church. After earning a Master in Divinity from Virginia Theological Seminary, Lonnie was ordained as a priest in 2006. His undergraduate degree is in Liberal Studies from Reinhardt University. Lonnie most recently was the rector of St. Anne’s Episcopal Church in Tifton, Georgia, a parish he had led since 2009. Before being called to St. Anne’s, Lonnie served as Assistant Rector at Trinity Episcopal Church, Statesboro, Georgia and as the Episcopal chaplain for Georgia Southern University. He is a congregational development trainer through the Church Development Institute, has served as Chair of the Diocesan Examining Chaplains, and often serves as a chaplain for diocesan youth programs such as Happening and New Beginnings. Lonnie and his wife, Jay, have two wonderful children, Dean and Kendall.

THE REV. WILLIAM B. TREXLER, DMIN

Interim Priest Associate

wbtrexler@gmail.com

850-222-2636

Learn More

The Rev. William B. Trexler, DMin, grew up in Asheville, NC, and graduated from Duke University in 1966 and Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary in 1970. Ordained in 1970, he served parishes in South Carolina, Virginia, and Florida. In 1995, Bill was elected bishop of the Florida-Bahamas Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

Fr. Bill and his spouse Karla recently moved to Tallahassee from Mt. Pleasant to be near their second son Ben, his spouse Alicia, and their children William and Emily. Bill and Karla are currently renovating their home in Ox Bottom. Fr. Bill’s hobbies include landscaping, architecture, and classical music.

THE REV. DEACON JOSEPH H. BAKKER

Deacon

joe.bakker@saint-john.org

850-591-9879

Learn More

The Rev. Joseph H. Bakker, our Deacon, is known as Joe or Deacon Joe. He is involved in prison ministry and pastoral care. Joe feels that his prison visits and his interactions with the sick, the poor and the needy are significant contributors to his spiritual growth. He especially loves the mentoring opportunities provided during prison visits. Joe was born in Guyana and has lived in Tallahassee for the past 37 years.

Joe and his wife Cheryl have two children, Jovita and Geoffrey, and a granddaughter, Micah Anne. Joe loves to play tennis (even though he claims he has no talent) and ping pong.


Staff

Mark Ascani

Parish Administrator
mark@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 16

Nancy Barfield

Finance Assistant
nancy@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 28

Alvin Bennett

Sexton

Betsy Calhoun

Director of Music
betsy@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 20

Claire Dodd

Rector’s Asst./Membership Director
claire@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 22

Fran Doxsee

Culinary Director
frandoxsee@gmail.com
850-222-2636 ext 19

Deborah Dugger

Administrative Assistant
deborah@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 10

Marissa Hall

Assistant Director of Music
marissa@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 18

Payton Kennemore

Worship Production Assistant

Kate Kile

Director of Finance & Stewardship
kate@saint-john.org
850-222-2636 ext 17

Israel Leonard

 Sexton

Vivian Leonard

Café Assistant

Darla Gale Marsters

Café Assistant

Mike Norris

Music Assistant
norris.mr@gmail.com

Mandy Schnittker

Director of Communications
mandy@saint-john.org
850-445-9515